News Ticker

UK’s Restaurant & Hotel Elite Honoured at the AA Hospitality Awards 2023

  • Paul Ainsworth crowned AA Chefs’ Chef of the Year 
  • AA Lifetime Achievement goes to Jonathan Raggett of Red Carnation Hotels
  • Pan Pacific London wins AA Accessible Award
  • AA Sustainable Award goes to The PIG Hotel Group
  • The Old Stamp House Restaurant, Chutney Mary, The Jackdaw and Cail Bruich named AA Restaurants of the Year 
  • Forest Side, The Lanesborough, Penally Abbey Hotel, Fingal, and Killeavy Castle Estate crowned AA Hotels of the Year
  • South Lodge awarded Spa Hotel of the Year
  • New restaurants and hotels awarded AA Rosettes and Red Stars

The Crème de la Crème of the UK hospitality industry gathered at JW Marriott Grosvenor House tonight for the highly anticipated AA Hospitality Awards 2023 hosted by AA Hotel & Hospitality Services. The glittering awards ceremony, presented by TV presenter and broadcaster Claudia Winkleman, celebrated the UK’s top hotels, spas, restaurants, and pubs and the people behind them.

In a dazzling showcase of excellence, the awards hosted around 1,000 guests to honour the outstanding contributions to the UK’s hospitality sector, spanning an impressive array of fifteen categories. The night’s highlights included the crowning of AA Restaurant of the Year, AA Hotel of the Year, AA Accessible Award, AA Spa Hotel of the Year, AA Wine Award, AA Chefs’ Chef, AA Lifetime Achievement Award, AA Sustainable Award and AA Housekeeper of the Year.

Simon Numphud, Managing Director at AA Media said:

“It’s a delight to be back at Grosvenor House as we mark the greatest hospitality celebration across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The last year has been tough on the hospitality industry as we’ve felt, like many others, the challenges facing businesses. Yet I’m so proud of the resilience, innovation and quality shown by the UK hospitality industry in response. We would like to extend a massive congratulations all the winners and shortlisted establishments for their hard work, passion, and dedication.”

The AA introduced the renowned star rating scheme for quality in 1908 and have continued to shine a well-deserved spotlight on individuals and establishments who consistently deliver excellence to their guests. The AA Hospitality Awards, now celebrated as the pinnacle of recognition in the industry, have once again showcased the innovation, dedication, and brilliance that define the UK’s hospitality landscape. As the stars of hospitality continue to rise, these awards have cemented their place as the ultimate authority in recognising excellence, setting the gold standard for hotels and restaurants across the nation. This year, the AA is celebrating 115 years of recognising excellence in hospitality.

AA Hospitality Awards – 2023 winners

The full list of this year’s AA Hospitality Awards winners can also be found at:

Chefs’ Chef

Accessible Award

Sustainable Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

Outstanding Contribution Award

  •  Angela Hartnett

Housekeeper of the Year

  • Nicola Burton from Hartwell House & Spa, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire

Restaurant of the Year

Hotel of the Year

Restaurant with Rooms

Spa Hotel of the Year

Group of the Year

Small Hotel Group of the Year

Food Service Award


Wine Award

College Restaurant of the Year 

  • @thirty-four Restaurant, Exeter College


  • Senara Restaurant, Truro & Penwith
  • The Classroom, Cardiff and Vale College

New 5 Rosettes

New 4 Rosettes 

New 3 Rosettes

New 5 Red Stars

New 4 Red Stars

The full list of this year’s AA Hospitality Awards winners can be found at

All 2023 award winners, finalists and establishments awarded AA Rosettes feature in the 30th edition of the AA Restaurant Guide 2024. Offering the definitive guide to the UK’s top 1,400 dining destinations, this is the food lover’s key to enjoying the best cuisine the country has to offer. Get your copy on Amazon (£17.99).

To become an AA member, join an accreditation scheme via its website at